• Home
  • /Blog
  • /Employee Spotlight – Charles “Cal” McMillan
Employee Spotlight – Charles “Cal” McMillan

Employee Spotlight – Charles “Cal” McMillan

“Cal” joined us in the summer of 2016, and he even took on – and won – the “intern challenge,” which involves some very hot chicken wings at a place known for having super-duper hot sauces. Welcome aboard, Cal. We’re glad to have ya! Below, Cal tells us a bit about himself.  Enjoy!

A lot of people wonder how I got the name Cal when my first name is really Charles.  It comes from my middle name Calhoun.  From an early age, my parents started calling me Cal and it stuck.  However, either Charles or Cal is fine with me!

I graduated from SMU in May (2017).  It was a great experience and I love my Mustang family dearly. If you ever want to check out the campus, or a Mustang football or basketball game let me know!

I grew up on a small farm in Bartonville, Tx, about an hour northwest of Dallas.  Despite growing up on a farm, I may be the most untypical Texan you know.  I don’t own a pair of cowboy boots, I don’t listen to country music, and I haven’t been on a horse since I got bucked off when I was five.  However, I still love the outdoors and would not trade growing up in Texas for anything.

I grew up with no siblings so sometimes it was a little hard to find things to do in little Bartonville, Tx.  At an early age, sports started filling all of my free time.  From the time I was 3 until the end of high school I played baseball.  In high school, through the influence of my mom, I also ran cross country.

My parents, Mark and Karen McMillan, have been the biggest influence in my life and supported me every step of the way, whether it be sports, school, or personal life.  My mom’s family is from North Carolina, where we try to visit them at Holden Beach every summer.  My dad’s family is mostly from Houston.

Three years ago I adopted my dog, Louie.  The shelter claimed that he was a small breed chow chow, which sounded like a great dog to keep in a small college apartment.  Fast forward 2 years and he’s a 110lb Akita mix. I love him to death and he’s the sweetest dog I know, but after I tore my knee, my parents were kind enough to look after him and he currently lives back home with them.

I recently moved to uptown Dallas. It has been a big adjustment for me as I have never lived in a big city before.  I live with two of my best friends that I have known since first grade.  So overall, it has been a smooth transition.

In my free time I like to stay active by playing golf or basketball.  However, I have not been able to do either of these in the last year because of my knee injury.  But I am almost back to 100%!!  When I’m not playing sports, I love watching them.  As many of you know, I am an avid Rangers and Cowboys fan.